Established:  1959

Total students:  6500

Foreign students:  942

Department: 13

Teachers:  2000

  • Professors 570
  • 880 associate professors
  • Doctor of Science 570
  • PhD 1200
  • 43 foreign teachers

Basic educational programs for foreigners:  59

  • Undergraduate 27
  • Master 19
  • Specialty 13

Additional educational programs for foreigners:  5

  • The study of Russian as a Foreign Language 5

Contact information:  630090, Russia, Novosibirsk, st. Pirogov d. 2 NGU

Training programs in English: 18
Variants of scientific training for foreign students: 28
Joint international educational programs: 29
Research laboratories, equipped with the most modern devices: 70
Research institutes of SB RAS (available for NSU students): 48

NSU was founded in 1959 in Novosibirsk Akademgorodok, where the leading scientific institutions of the country. Due to this, the NSU students already during training may engage in research, and to continue his work there after graduation.

Today, the university structure includes physico-mathematical school, Higher College of Informatics, 13 faculties, postgraduate, professional training institute, the research part.

Since the foundation of the university prepares highly qualified specialists for educational and scientific activities. 80% of faculty members - employees of research institutes in Akademgorodok.

NSU create research centers and laboratories with major foreign companies, including Intel, HP, Parallels.

NSU laboratory known for its developments. There by control devices installed on the satellites of the GLONASS system, and laser systems purchased in Russia and abroad.

NSU researchers are developing the following areas:

laser systems,
molecular design of new drugs,
Medical biotechnology,
new methods of cancer therapy,
biodegradation of waste oil fields.

Our slogan: "We will not make you smarter, we will teach you to think."


Among NSU 132 partner universities and organizations from 29 countries, including the UK, Brazil, China, Germany, Spain, Italy, Norway, the USA, France, Switzerland, Japan.